ph +61 (0)3 6382 1336 , +61 (0)466 955210. . email: us @ thegrovetas.com
corner Elizabeth & Cimitiere Streets (25 Cimitiere St) central George Town TAS 7253
the lower rates are for winter (16 May til 15 Sept); for long stays, charges maybe lower. [RACT rating 3 stars] "A Bargain", Mark Bradley Inside Wine magazine, May 1996.
Some visitor book comments from "Best accommodation in Tassie by far" (5th April), "What a crime ... to discover such a gem of a place quite by accident - and only stay 1 night" (29th April). And from 2008 "After 15 months and 2 days returning here to Nanna's cottage and found it as wonderful as I left it!" (24th February) and 2014 "Loved all the old world touches but still appreciated the reverse cycle air conditioning and towel warmers. Would love to stay longer!" (24th May)
Is a larger self contained cottage (70m2), featuring exposed old oregon beams and oregon feature wall, has a queen size bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the other. There is a full kitchen and bathroom.
Some visitor book comments from 2007-08 "Thoroughly enjoyed our 2nd stay at The Grove, this time in "Grove" Cottage. The little touches do not go unnoticed." (13th October), "You have thought of everything! And a very comfortable bed." (13th January) . . . . to 2014 "Had to come back, The Grove is such a lovely, charming place." (16th November) "So good we couldn't resist a second night to explore more of the area. To find a place so well prepared and all needs met in such a friendly and welcoming way is probably unique!" (1st December)
Booking: Please email or phone ! Accommodation Photos
The Grove, comprises a Georgian home (c.1835) with B&B accommodation (in Nanna's or Grove Cottages) located at George Town, site of Australia's third settlement, at the mouth of the picturesque Tamar River valley (home to fruit farms and wineries - the source of many fine wines).
Our restaurant and the house are no longer open to the public. Layout and photos
|Restaurant and House are no longer open for inspection|
Have a look at George Town's history also.
The Davies family, who purchased 'The Grove' in 1889 report that they were told that the house was built as a home for the military commandant, and completed about 1827. Remembering that it is situated in Cimitiere St., and that Colonel Cimitiere was the military commandant, may give that story some credibility. However, recent research suggests that the house was very likely built by Lieutenant Matthew Curling Friend, ship's captain, who was appointed to the post of Port Officer in 1832. He administered the whole of the river port of the Tamar river, called Port Dalrymple, because in those days of course the ships were much smaller, and used to go right to Launceston. He moved from Launceston to George Town late in 1835 apparently on completion of construction.
Grove maids at work